Thanksgiving & Training for the 5K

I am back from a lovely long weekend full of Thanksgiving celebrations! There was so much food I could barely fit it all in this photo:

IMG-20131013-00861

What was left out of this picture was the asparagus and green beans. There seems to have been an orange theme to this dinner apparently…

And as a side note, that is indeed turkey on the table. Everyone in my family besides myself and my sister are meat-eaters, so there was lots of that. However, everything else on the table was vegan!

So after a long weekend of stuffing my face family get-togethers, I’ve had to work extra hard at the gym to get ready for the Toronto Waterfront Marathon this weekend.

I am doing the 5K this weekend and am so beyond excited! I have never done any sort of running event, so this will be an interesting experience.

Back in the day (elementary/secondary school days), I was a long distance runner. It came so naturally to me. Now trying it again in my twenties feels more like this:

 

Source: Dabestmemes.tumblr.com
Source: Dabestmemes.tumblr.com

Slowly I’ve been getting in shape again and it is honestly the best I have felt in years. Slowly but surely.

Is anybody else doing a running event soon? Or have done one recently? Let me know!

Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving & Training for the 5K

  1. Hey Bri! I’m not running until December but I’ll be cheering all the scotiabank runners this weekend! Two of my friends are running their first half! Good luck to you!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

