Healthy Vegan Ginger Molasses Cookies

I was on the way home from a family BBQ when a craving came over me. I really wanted some ginger molasses cookies. ASAP.

I can’t explain why I felt the sudden need for these cookies, but once I had these treats on my mind, I knew I had to make them!

As soon as I got home, I headed to the kitchen and started working on whipping up a batch of these cookies. I also really wanted to try and make these cookies as healthy as a could, as well as tasty.

DSC_0210

Healthy Vegan Ginger Molasses Cookies

Adapted from Allrecipes.ca

  • 1 1/4 cups + 2 tbsp kamut flour
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp vegan butter
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • half a flax egg ( 1 1/2 tsp ground flax + 1 1/2 tbsp warm water)
  • 2 tbsp molasses

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium/large sized bowl, mix together the butter and agave until well combined.

DSC_0193

Add the flax egg and molasses and mix until smooth.

Add the ginger, cinnamon, baking soda and sea salt and stir into mixture.

Slowly add the flour into the mixture and stir until combined and doughy.

DSC_0195

Roll chunks of the dough into balls. If you should desire, you can roll the cookies in a bit of granulated or cane sugar.

DSC_0197

Place on a baking sheet and gently flatten.

DSC_0201

DSC_0202

Bake for 9-10 minutes.

Remove from oven and allow them to cool.

DSC_0208

DSC_0209

Nutrition information for one cookie in a 15 cookie batch:

  •  Calories: 107
  • Fat: 4g
  • Sodium: 110mg
  • Carbohydrates: 16g
  • Sugar: 6g
  • Vitamin B-6: 15%
  • Vitamin B-12: 8%
  • Vitamin D: 20%

And in other exciting news, I officially signed up for the Toronto Waterfront Marathon! I am only doing the 5k, as this is my first ever race, but I am beyond excited!

I’d love to do some other races this fall, but I’m having a hard time deciding what ones to do. Hopefully in the next few weeks I will have more news to post about other races I’ve decided to participate in :).

Have a great Tuesday!

3 thoughts on “Healthy Vegan Ginger Molasses Cookies

Leave a Reply

