Vegan Shepherd’s Pie

When I first moved out on my own, my parents were kind enough to send me comfort food when I first moved in. One of those meals happened to be shepherd’s pie.

Recently, I had asked my mother for the recipe to her homemade shepherd’s pie and she kindly shared it with me. I tweaked it slightly from her recipe, and I must say, I am quite pleased with the result. Nothing better than comfort food!

DSC_0204

Vegan Shepherd’s Pie

  • 4 medium-sized potatoes
  • 1/3 cup vegan butter
  • 1 package (340g) of veggie ground round ( I use this brand)
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar dressing
  • 1/3 ketchup
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 1 cup diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup corn
  • 1/4 cup peas
  • 1/4 cup carrots
  • 1/4 cup broccoli
  • 1/4 cup cauliflower
  • 1/2 cup green onions, chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

First, peel your potatoes and chop them into small chunks. Place the potatoes in a medium/large pot with water at high heat.

DSC_0193

While your potatoes are cooking, in a medium-sized pot add the veggie ground round, balsamic vinegar dressing, ketchup, mustard and diced tomatoes and cook at a medium heat. Then add the rosemary and oregano. Once ready, remove from heat and set aside.

DSC_0195

Once the potatoes are soft, strain the potatoes to remove all the remaining water. After they are drained, pour the potatoes back into the pot and add the vegan butter and mash. Once mashed, add the green onions and parsley and set aside.

DSC_0200

There are two ways you can go about warming up your veggies. You can throw them all in a large bowl and microwave them a few minutes just to warm them. Or you can warm them on a large pan or pot for a few minutes. You only just need to soften up the veggies before you cook them in the pie, so either way works!

DSC_0197

In a large baking dish, pour the veggie ground round mixture and smooth.

DSC_0198

Then layer your veggies on top of the ground round mixture and smooth.

DSC_0199

Finally, layer the potatoes on top of the veggies and smooth.

DSC_0201

Place a sheet of aluminum foil over the baking dish and stick in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

DSC_0202

After cooking for 30 minutes, remove the baking dish from the oven and remove the foil. Place back in the oven for another 20-30 minutes or until lightly browned.

Once ready, allow the pie to cool for about 5-7 minutes before serving.

DSC_0206

A tasty meal that is perfect for those days you want something a little more hearty!

Nutritional information per one piece in an eight piece serving:

  • Calories: 236
  • Fat: 8g
  • Sodium: 542mg
  • Carbohydrates: 31g
  • Fiber: 5g
  • Sugar: 6g
  •  Protein: 10g

Along with shepherd’s pie, another one of my favourite comfort foods is scalloped potatoes. I love them.

Does anybody have a favourite comfort food- meal or dessert?

4 thoughts on “Vegan Shepherd’s Pie

  1. I love shepherd’s pie! Are parent’s vegan? Do you think this could be made with tvp or even just a veggie/quinoa filling? Thanks for sharing!

    • No, my parents are not vegan. My father’s diet consists of chicken wings and pizza haha. But my mother is very accommodating to my dietary choices and changes her recipes up to make them veg friendly.

      I think a veggie and quinoa filling is an excellent suggestion! I’ll definetly have to try it that way sometime. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

