Quick & Easy Vegan Raspberry Pancakes

I love easy recipes; especially the ones that require only a couple of ingredients and can be made quickly. Even better is when that recipe is healthy.

IMG_0422

As I pointed out previously, I have a deep, profound love for pancakes. So when I discover a simple and healthy pancake recipe, I get very excited.

 

Source: http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3sy1ue/
Source: http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3sy1ue/

And bonus, it’s vegan!

Vegan Raspberry Applesauce Pancakes

Adapted from food.com

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar or agave nectar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4-1/3 cup raspberries

Combine the dry ingredients in a small/medium sized bowl.

IMG_0414

Once together, wet ingredients and mix until combined.

IMG_0415

Heat up a pan on low/medium heat and coat the pan with butter, cooking spray, or as I used, coconut oil. It is all personal preference!

Pour batter onto the pan. Once on the pan, break up the raspberries into smaller pieces and sprinkle on the pancake while it is cooking.

IMG_0420

Cook on each side for 2-4 minutes, or until lightly browned.

IMG_0418

Once cooked add your favourite toppings and enjoy! I went plain this time around but feel free to get creative.

IMG_0421

Here is the nutrition info for 1 pancake in an medium-sized 8 pc serving:

  • Calories: 63
  • Fat: 0.3g
  • Sodium: 128.8mg
  • Sugar: 2.3g
  • Carbohydrates: 14.5g

I hope everyone had a great weekend (and to my fellow Canadians, a great long weekend!)

7 thoughts on “Quick & Easy Vegan Raspberry Pancakes

  1. I tried out this recipe for a brunch over the weekend. I had several vegetarians, one lactating mom who had to avoid dairy, soy, and nuts and a few regular meat and potatoes breakfast eaters. Quite the challenge to come up with something that all would enjoy! Your pancakes turned out beautifully and were a big hit. They were light and fluffy as pancakes should be and full of flavor. Even my picky partner who hates all things ‘vegan’ loved these and told me afterward that I could make them again soon. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

Leave a Reply

