Vegan Oatmeal Pancakes

So I love pancakes. I mean really love them. Anytime I go out to a restaurant and I see pancakes on the menu, I will order them. Regardless of the time of day. They are good any time of the day.

So when I saw this recipe for oatmeal pancakes I knew I had to try it! I made a few small changes to the original recipe to veganize it.

Oatmeal Pancakes

Adapted from Pbfingers.com

  • 1/2 cup + 1/3 cup whole wheat or spelt flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tbsp melted vegan butter
  • 3/4 cup almond milk (soy milk works)
  • 1/3 cup oatmeal, cooked
  • 1/4 cup raw oats
  • 1 tbsp honey or agave nectar
  • 1 “flax egg” (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water= 1 flax egg)

Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.

In a small/medium bowl, mix the butter, milk, cooked oats, raw oats, honey/agave and flax egg together until combined.

Then add the wet ingredients with the dry ones and stir until combined.

IMG_0065

Pour small/medium sized pancakes onto a light/medium heated pan (each stovetop heat ranges, so do what works best for you.) You can use butter to coat the pan (I used coconut oil with success).

IMG_0066

When cooking on the pan, I added chocolate chips on the pancakes. You can omit this if you wish.

Cook for 3-4 minutes on each side or until browned.

IMG_0067

Top with your favourite pancake toppings.

Mine happened to include berries and bananas 🙂

IMG_0068

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Oatmeal Pancakes

Leave a Reply

